Professor Shing-Tung Yau awarded 2023 Shaw Prize


12 November 2023 – The Shaw Prize, an international recognition of remarkable scientific achievements based in Hong Kong, celebrated its momentous 20th anniversary with a grand ceremony at the Grand Hall of the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. The event brought together over 30 Shaw Laureates, including 21 winners from 2020 to 2023, who were presented their well-deserved awards on stage.


The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences 2023 is awarded in equal shares to Shing-Tung Yau from Tsinghua University, and Vladimir Drinfeld from the University of Chicago in the United States, Yau worked on mathematical problems arising from general relativity and string theory, and Drinfeld participated in the launching of the geometric Langlands program.

The Ceremony was officiated by the Hon Mr. John KC Lee, Chief Executive of the Hong Kong SAR, People’s Republic of China, and was graced by the presence of Ms. Lu Xinning, Deputy Director of the Liaison Office of the Central People’s Government in the Hong Kong SAR, Mr. Fang Jianming, Deputy Commissioner of the Office of the Commissioner of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People’s Republic of China in the Hong Kong SAR, and former Chief Executives, Mr. Donald Tsang and Mrs. Selina Tsang, Mrs Carrie Lam and Mr Lam Siu-por. Over 600 guests from various sectors including the government, political community, business community, and education sector participated in the event.

Dr Raymond Chan, Chair of the Shaw Prize Foundation, extended a warm welcome to the laureates and guests in his opening speech. He paid tribute to the remarkable contributions of the late Mr Run Run Shaw, founder of the Shaw Prize, and Mrs Mona Shaw, emphasizing their profound impact on the art, cultural, and educational development of Hong Kong and mainland China. Dr Chan reiterated the Shaw Prize’s mission is to celebrate scientific accomplishments that transcend geographical boundaries and expressed the hope that the Prize would contribute to making the world a better place.

The Hon Mr John KC Lee, Chief Executive of the Hong Kong SAR, People’s Republic of China, gave a congratulatory message on stage. Joined by the Shaw Prize Foundation Board of Directors and Council Members, The Hon Mr John KC Lee led a toasting ceremony, honoring the achievements of Shaw Laureates, and celebrating the 20 years of accomplishments of the Shaw Prize, to encourage and elevate the next generation of scientists and innovators, for the benefit of humankind.

A defining moment of the night was the presentation of awards to Shaw Laureates 2023 by Professor Reinhard Genzel, Chair of the Board of Adjudicators. Laureates from the years 2020 to 2022, who had previously received their certificates remotely due to the pandemic, were also invited on stage, and finally presented with their long-awaited gold medals.

Source: The Shaw Prize Official Website