The 8th International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians (ICCM 2019) Will Be Held at Tsinghua University


The 8th International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians (ICCM 2019) will be held at Tsinghua University, Beijing from June 9 to June 14, 2019. ICCM is the largest and most influential premier event among the Chinese mathematicians. Moreover, this is the second time that the conference will be held at Tsinghua University。

At 9:00 am June 9, the Chern Prize, the ICCM International Cooperation Award and ICCM Medal of Mathematics (original the Morningside Medal of Mathematics) with the reputation of “Chinese Fields Medal”, will be announced on the opening ceremony. By 2018, nearly 50 Chinese mathematicians who made outstanding achievements in the mathematics won the award.

Professor Shing-Tung Yau, Member of US National Academy of Science, and the Chairman of ICCM made a speech on the opening ceremony of the 7th ICCM

Opening ceremony of the the 7th ICCM

Award ceremony of the the 7th ICCM

Yau Mathematical Sciences Center (YMSC) and Department of Mathematical Sciences of Tsinghua University will jointly host the six-day conference. Many outstanding Chinese and overseas mathematicians will gather at Tsinghua University to discuss current significant developments and explore future directions in both pure and applied mathematics. It is expected that about 2000 participants will attend ICCM 2019. There will be about 300 academic lectures. So far, there will be six Distinguished Lectures delivered by the world’s top scientists, including Professor Richard Schoen at Stanford University, member of US National Academy of Science and the winner of Wolf Prize, Professor Vaughan Jones at University of California, Berkeley, the winner of Fields Medal etc. About 30 plenary lectures and 270 invited lectures will be delivered, which cover more than 40 topics of mathematics.

2019 Distinguished Lectures

Richard Schoen

Stanford University

Wolf Prizes (2017), Bocher Prize (1989)

Vaughan Jones

University of California, Berkeley

Fields Medal (1990) etc.

Helene Esnault

Freie Universität Berlin

Cantor medal (2019), Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize (2003) etc.

Pavel Exner

Czech Academy of Sciences

JINR First Prize (1985) etc.

Michael Rapoport

University of Bonn

Heinz Hopf Prize (2011), Leibniz Prize (1992) etc.

Kenneth Ribet

University of California, Berkeley

Brouwer Medal (2017), Fermat Prize (1989) etc.

During the conference, the 5th New World Mathematics Awards Ceremony will be held to honor the excellent young students who won the awards from 2017 to 2019. This will encourage the Chinese mathematics students all around the world to pursue the truth of math and foster outstanding math talent.

ICCM is a triennial event initiated by Professor Shing-Tung Yau, a renowned Chinese Mathematician and the director of YMSC in 1998. The conference is hosted by institutions in Beijing, Taipei, Hong Kong and Hangzhou on a rotating basis.