YMSC Held 2019 New Year Party


On December 31 2018, YMSC held 2019 New Year Party at Jin Chun Yuan West Building. Professor Shing-Tung Yau, the director of YMSC, Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, Professor Xiao Jie, both the vice directors of YMSC, the vice director of YMSC Huang Xiaoxia, Professor Zou Wenming the dean of the department of mathematics, Ye Jun, the Party Secretary of the department of mathematics, Huang Zhongyi the vice Party Secretary of the department of mathematics, faculty members and staff of YMSC and representatives from the department of mathematics celebrated the new year together.

YMSC New Year Party at Jin Chun Yuan West Building

Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng reviewed YMSC in 2018 from the aspects of promoting talent education, academic exchange, students nurturing, admissions and important conferences. Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng welcomed and introduced the new faculty members of YMSC including seven professors as Professor Donald B. Rubin and Professor Akito Futaki, two associate professors as Qiu Yu, 11 assistant professors as Jin Long and 12 postdoctoral fellows.

Professor Shing-Tung Yau gave a speech

Professor Shing-Tung Yau recalled the history of YMSC. He said that YMSC developed rapidly in the past ten years, especially in recent two years with the newly joined high-level experts and young scholars. Professor Yau hoped that every new member could spend a happy time here, devote themselves into the research and nurture more outstanding undergraduates, postgraduates and post doctors. He also emphasized that all faculties and staff should work together to make YMSC to become the world-class international research institute.

Professor Xiao Jie presided the New Year Party

Representatives of teachers and students spoke at the New Year Party

An award ceremony was held at the New Year Party. Four awards were presented to the teachers, post doctors, who are prominent in the research of math at Tsinghua University, and the  undergraduates and postgraduates who got good achievements in study. These awards are: Outstanding Paper Award, Research Excellence Award, Excellent Postgraduate Award, and Excellent Undergraduate Award.

The winners group photo with professor Yau

Attach: Winners List