YMSC Year in Review 2018


Faculty and Research

● Professor Shing-Tung Yau won Marcel Grossmann Awards. The award is one of the most important awards in physics. Professor Yau is the first Chinese mathematician to be awarded this prestigious honor.

● Renowned Professor Donald B. Rubin, former Dean of the Department of Statistics at Harvard University, and an internationally well-known statistician, joined YMSC as a fulltime faculty member and opened a graduate course entitled “The Design of Experiments” at Tsinghua.

● Professor Akito Futaki joined YMSC as a fulltime faculty member and won the 14th Foreign Experts of the Recruitment Program of Global Experts.

● Professor Yu Pin won the 2018 National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars.

● Associate Professor Zeng Huihui won the 2018 National Science Fund for Excellent Young Scholars.

● Assistant Professor Jin Long published paper in the top international mathematics journal Acta Mathematica.

Academic Exchange

● More than 100 internationally renowned mathematicians gathered together in Jiaoling to discuss “the Development of Calabi-Yau Theory for 40 Years”.

● The Second Annual Meeting of the International Consortium of Chinese Mathematicians (ICCM) was held in Taiwan. The meeting was jointly hosted by YMSC of Tsinghua University, Theoretical Science Research Center of Taiwan University, and Institute of Mathematics of Taiwan Chiao Tung University.  

● The 9th TSIMF & Master Lectures was held. Winners of Wolf Prize, Professor Hillel Furstenberg and Professor James Arthur delivered public lectures.

● 2018 S.-T. Yau Science Forum was held in Tsinghua University. Seven world top scholars in the area of mathematics and physics attended the forum.

● Professor Hillel Furstenberg, the winner of Wolf Prize visited Tsinghua University and gave a special lecture.

● Professor Donald B, Rubin, the renowned statistician, delivered a special academic lecture in Tsinghua University.

● David Donoho, professor of the Department of Statistics, Stanford University and expert of applied mathematics, visited Tsinghua University and delivered a distinguished academic lecture named after Pao-Lu Hsu.

● Professor Laurent Fargues, the expert of number theory from the National Center for Science Research France attended Loo-Keng Hua Distinguished Lecture.

● Remo Ruffin, the director of International Centre for Relativistic Astrophysics Network (ICRANet), and his research team were invited to attend Chia-Chiao Lin Distinguished Lecture.

● Ji Xiangdong, Hong-Wen Chair Professor and a physicist at Shanghai Jiao Tong University, attended Chen-Ying Chiou Distinguished Lecture at YMSC.


● Professor Shing-Tung Yau delivered a public speech in the West Lecture Theatre of Tsinghua University, and discussed with high school students face to face.

● First 15 undergraduates of Yau Math Talent Undergraduate Program enrolled.

● The enrollment of Doctoral Program in Mathematics for international students 2019 was launched.

● The entrance examination of Yau Math Talent Undergraduate Program finished. 18 undergraduates will enroll in September 2019.

Nurturing Students

● The 9th S.-T. Yau College Student Mathematics Contest was held. More than 100 contestants from 11 universities including Tsinghua University, Beijing University,University of Science and Technology of China etc. competed for 61 awards.

● The final and the award ceremony of 11th S.-T. Yau High School Science Award was held at Tsinghua University, with economic and financial modeling award included the first time.

● The 1st Summer Camp for Excellent College Students in Mathematical Physics was held. 13 students from Peking University and Nankai University were selected and became the first batch of campers.

● The 2018 Postgraduates Award ceremony of Tsinghua Xuetang Talents Program was held. Professor Shing-Tung Yau, the Chair Professor of Math Class, Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng and Professor Xiao Jie, both the vice directors of YMSC attended the ceremony and took photos with the Math Class graduates 2018.

● S.-T. Yau High School Math Camp 2018 was held. More than one hundred students from the key high schools from various provinces of China attended the opening ceremony.