Yau Math Talents Undergraduate Program

Yau Math Talents Undergraduate Program

With the active advocacy by Shing-Tung Yau, the Ministry of Education approved in February 2018 to launch Yau Math Talents Undergraduate Program (“YMTUP”) at Tsinghua University, with Prof. Shing-Tung Yau being the Chief Professor.

Admission:

YMTUP targets at high school second-year and third-year students with excellent school records. The entrance exam will be held in the autumn semester each year (with the specific time subject to the admission policies). Under the leadership of Tsinghua University Leading Group on Admission, Tsinghua University Admission Office organizes and implements the admission to YMTUP following strict exam procedures. Students who pass the preliminary exam are required to take tests organized by Tsinghua University’s including comprehensive test, disciplinary competence test and psychological test. YMSC organizes disciplinary competence test to examine basic mathematical knowledge and learning ability of the students. Students with excellent test results will be admitted to Undergraduate Program in Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, and they are not permitted to transfer to other majors during undergraduate study.

Admission policies will be published at Tsinghua Admission. Students should apply on line at the due time. Please visit Tsinghua Admission at http://www.tsinghua.edu.cn/publish/bzw/index.html

Student Training:

YMTUP sets up Math Talents Classes, provides the students with supervisors, and makes personalized training curriculum. Students are given all-sided guidance and advice in terms of course registration, class performance, extracurricular discussions, mental health and so on. Tenured professors provide guidance on course registration for the students. Besides taking courses required in Guide to Undergraduate Program in Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, students are encouraged to deeply explore their own interest, take self-improvement courses, actively organize seminars to share ideas and explore mathematics. Students who have spare energy are encouraged to take or sit in on senior courses. Excellent students will be selected to visit international well-known universities for exchange. The program will explore the development patterns of top mathematical talents taking full consideration of both mental and psychological growth of teenagers, and endeavor to educate a new generation of leading talents in mathematics.

Admission Data:

In September 2018, 15 students were admitted to 2018 Yau Math Talents Undergraduate Program;

In October 2018, the admission of 2019 Yau Math Talents Undergraduate Program was ended successfully, 18 students will enroll for this program in September 2019.

Program Team Members:

Chief Professor: Shing-Tung Yau

Program Directors: Huang Xiaoxia, Zou Wenming

Program Members: Xiao Jie, Ye Jun, Zhang Youjin

Li Si, Yu Pin, Wu Hao

Song Wei, Yang Fan, Su Peng

Contact: +86-10-62794058, Ms. Sun

Email: ymsc_academics@tsinghua.edu.cn

  • Contact
  • Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Jing Zhai,
    Tsinghua University, Hai Dian District, Beijing China
  • +86-10-62773561
  • +86-10-6277356
  • ymsc@tsinghua.edu.cn
©2018 YMSC, Tsinghua University. All Rights Reserved

丘成桐数学英才班

英才班简介

在丘成桐先生的积极倡导下,2018年2月教育部批复同意清华大学开设“丘成桐数学英才班”(以下简称“英才班”)。丘成桐先生担任首席教授。

招生选拔

英才班招生对象为学习成绩优异的普通高中二年级在读学生及三年级应届毕业生,每年在秋季学期组织招生考试(具体时间以招生办法为准)。相关招生工作在清华大学招生工作领导小组的领导下,严格按照相关考试程序,由我校招生办公室负责组织和实施。初审“通过”的学生需参加我校组织的测试。测试内容包括:综合测试、学科能力测试、心理测试等。由丘成桐数学科学中心负责组织专业学科能力部分测试,主要考察学生数学基础知识的掌握和学习能力。招收的学生录取至“数学与应用数学”专业,且本科阶段不得转入其他专业。

招生办法在清华大学本科招生网公布。学生需在规定的时间内进行网上报名。清华大学本科招生网:http://www.tsinghua.edu.cn/publish/bzw/index.html

学生培养

英才班独立设班,为学生配备导师、制定个性化的培养方案。从学生选课、上课、课外讨论、心理健康等提供全方位的指导和建议。学生选课阶段,由长聘教授提供专业的选课指导。在完成培养方案要求的课程之外,鼓励有能力的学生深入探索自己的兴趣,选择自主发展课程。鼓励学生积极组织讨论班,共同交流,探索数学。鼓励学有余力的同学,选修或旁听自己感兴趣的高年级课程。选派优秀学生赴世界著名大学交流访问。在遵循青少年心智成长规律的前提下探索数学拔尖人才的成长规律,培养新一代数学科学领军人才。

录取数据

2018年9月,2018级丘成桐数学英才班15名学生入学;

2018年10月,2019级招生考试工作结束,18名学生将于2019年9月入学。

项目组成员:

首席教授:丘成桐

项目主任:黄晓霞、邹文明

项目成员:肖 杰、叶 俊、张友金

李 思、于 品、吴 昊

宋 伟、杨 帆、苏 芃

联系电话:+86-10-62794058,孙老师

邮箱:ymsc_academics@tsinghua.edu.cn

  • 联系我们
  • 北京市海淀区清华大学静斋
    丘成桐数学科学中心100084
  • +86-10-62773561
  • +86-10-6277356
  • ymsc@tsinghua.edu.cn
版权所有© 2018 丘成桐数学科学中心