Introduction

Since the establishment of Yau Mathematical Sciences Center (YMSC) at Tsinghua University, by virtue of the meticulous guidance and leadership of Prof. Shing-Tung Yau, the professional team at YMSC is increasingly international, high-caliber and youthful. In line with the spirit settled at the two special conferences on the development of talent and resources of YMSC in 2018, YMSC establishes its overall faculty size for the next three years. Since then the center has been registering rapid and steady progress in various scopes, and the line-up of young scholars at YMSC is growing stronger. As of December 2018, there are totally 63 full-time faculty members (including 16 professors, 9 associate professors and 37 assistant professors) at YMSC, and 12 of them come from nearly 10 countries outside China - the United States, UK, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Japan, South Korea and Chile. 40 faculty members, or about 63% of the total, are under the age of 35. Moreover, YMSC has also been keen to educate and engage female scientists in recent years. Currently, there are 9 young female faculty members (about 14% of the total) working at YMSC, including Shan Peng and Wu Hao.

Comparison of Research and Teaching personnel Engaged by YMSC in the past three years

As of December 31, 2018, YMSC had engaged 48 postdoctors in total. Currently, there are a total of 38 postdoctors working at YMSC, including 12 foreigners. In 2018, YMSC engaged 13 postdoctors in total, including 5 foreigners. 3 postdoctors were directly promoted to assistant professors at YMSC upon their completion of research at YMSC. Since 2011 to now, outbound postdoctors either teach at Tsinghua University, or teach at key universities at home and abroad. Thus, YMSC has gained a significantly improved academic status and authoritative influence in the world through delivering numerous high-quality talents to national and international universities and research institutions.

Centering on basic mathematics, YMSC faculty members conduct research on five areas and three cross disciplines. Currently, the achievements of several research areas have reached the world first-class level in some specific issues, and as a whole have a significant influence in the world. YMSC now has 1 person included in the Top Young Talent Support Program; 2 winners of Tsinghua University Scholarship Award; 2 winners of Qiu Shi Outstanding Young Scholar Award; and 1 Changjiang Scholars Program. By the end of October 2018, YMSC faculty members published 71 SCI papers totally in the year (11 more than the total in 2017), which have an average length of 29 pages, and 11 of which contain more than 40 pages.

The objectives and positioning of YMSC are to: make the subject of mathematics to be among the world top 20 by the end of 2020, Asian No.1 and among the world top 5 in 10 years. In terms of people development, YMSC will build a high-level teaching and research team with great potential ability, with at least 30 international leaders at the frontier of mathematics, including 20 world top mathematicians in core mathematics, 10 world leading mathematicians in applied mathematics, 5 research teams in crossing fields, and 60 world first-class young and middle-aged mathematicians. Based thereupon, YMSC will recruit more than 60 post doctors and more than 100 graduates.


  • Fu Lei
  • Fu Lei, Yu Pin
  • Yu Pin, Zeng Huihui
  • Yu Pin
  • Li Si
  • Fu Lei, Song Wei, Shan Peng
  • Zeng Huihui, Chen Zhijie
  • Jiang Yi, Wenqiang, Sun Zhe
  • Contact
  • Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Jing Zhai,
    Tsinghua University, Hai Dian District, Beijing China
  • +86-10-62773561
  • +86-10-6277356
  • ymsc@tsinghua.edu.cn
©2018 YMSC, Tsinghua University. All Rights Reserved

概述

数学中心自成立以来,在丘成桐教授的精心主持与领导下,中心人才逐渐呈现出高度的国际化、高端化和年轻化趋势。2018年,在两次学校有关数学中心人才发展和资源规模专题会议精神的基础上,数学中心确定了未来三年的总体教师队伍规模,各项工作快速稳步推进、年轻学者队伍成长壮大。截止2018年12月,其中全职教师共63人(包括教授16人、副教授9人、助理教授37人),外籍12人,分别来自美国、英国、德国、法国、荷兰、日本、韩国、智利等近十个国家。教师中35岁以下的年轻教师40人,约占教师总人数的63%。此外,中心近年来也一直致力于女性科学家的培养和引进,现有以单芃、吴昊为主的年轻女性教师共9人,约占教师总人数的14%。

丘成桐数学科学中心近三年教学科研人员引进对比图

截至2018年12月31日,中心共引进博士后48人。目前,中心博士后在站共38人,其中外籍12人,2018年新引进博士后共13人,其中外籍5人,博士后出站直接升任中心助理教授3人。自2011年起至今,已出站博士后或留校任教、或分赴国内外重点高校任教,为国内外各大高校以及科研机构输送大批高素质人才,中心的国际学术地位和权威影响力明显提高。

数学中心教师以基础数学为核心,已逐渐形成了五大领域和三个交叉研究方向。目前若干科研方向的研究成果在一些具体问题上达到了世界一流水平、整体上接近并在国际上享有重要影响。中心现有青年拔尖人才支持计划1人;学术新人奖2人;求是杰出青年学者奖2人;长江学者1人。截至2018年10月底,本年度中心教师共发表SCI论文71篇(比2017年全年多11篇),论文平均29页,40页以上的论文11篇。

数学科学中心的目标和定位是:到2020年底,数学学科世界排名前二十名,十年内建设成为亚洲排名第一、世界排名前五的数学学科。在人才建设规方面,在人才建设方面,将建设一支高水平、有潜力的教研系列教师队伍,,最少拥有30位国际数学前沿的领军人物,其中核心数学方面20名世界级领先数学家,应用数学方面10名世界级领先数学家和5个交叉领域的研究团队,60名世界一流水平的中青年数学家。以此为基础,招收博士后60余人,研究生100余人。

  • 扶磊
  • 扶磊、于品
  • 于品、曾惠慧
  • 于品
  • 李思
  • 扶磊、宋伟、单芃
  • 曾惠慧、陈志杰
  • 江怡、文强、孙哲
  • 联系我们
  • 北京市海淀区清华大学静斋
    丘成桐数学科学中心100084
  • +86-10-62773561
  • +86-10-6277356
  • ymsc@tsinghua.edu.cn
版权所有© 2018 丘成桐数学科学中心