Algebraic Geometry -- A Workshop in Honor of Professor Eduard Looijenga

We are proud to announce that Prof. Eduard Looijenga is now a full-time member of the Mathematical Sciences Center of Tsinghua University.

Since the inauguration of the MSC in 2009, Professor Looijenga has been a strong advocate for MSC. From 2009 to 2011, he serves as a member of its International Advisory Committee. In the fall 2011, he delivered a course on moduli spaces of curves at Tsinghua. In spring 2013, Prof. Looijenga was invited to visit MSC again and delivered a course on Rational Surfaces and Singularities. Beginning in fall 2013, he will be our full-time member, and could serve as a mentor for post-doctoral fellows and graduate students.

On October 12, 2013, the MSC will host a workshop on “Algebraic Geometry” in honor of Professor Looijenga’s arrival at Tsinghua University.

Professor Looijenga received his Ph.D. in the University of Amsterdam in 1974. He was a Professor at the University of Nijmegen and the University of Amsterdam. He was a Visiting Professor at the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) and the University of Utah (Salt Lake City). He has been a Professor at the University of Utrecht since 1991. Professor Looijenga's research started in singularity theory, but migrated via Torelli problems to locally symmetric varieties, then to mapping class groups and moduli spaces of curves. His recent work is concerned with automorphic forms with poles that are associated with moduli problems and with the algebraic geometry of Wess--Zumino-Witten systems. One of his major works is a solution of the Zucker conjecture concerning identification of the L2-cohomology of an arithmetic Hermitian locally symmetric space and the intersection cohomology of the Baily-Borel compactification of the space. Looijenga was an invited speaker at the ICM in 1978 and at the ECM in 1992. Currently he is a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, and an editor of Journal of the Michigan Mathematical Journal and the Journal of the European Mathematical Society.


Copyright © 2013 Mathematical Sciences Center, Tsinghua University, All Rights Reserved.